The Book of Satan

By Vexen Crabtree 2006

#anton_lavey #arthur_desmon #book_of_satan #jack_london #ragnar_redbeard #satanic_bible #satanism

Introduction to The 4 Books of the Satanic Bible

The Book Of Satan - The first book in the Satanic Bible

Book Of Satan 1:1-4 - The first 4 verses of chapter 1

Book of Satan 1:5-7 - Verses 4 to 7 of chapter 1

1. The Book Of Satan

The Book of Satan comprises of five chapters by an author writing under the name of Ragnar Redbeard. The other three books of The Satanic Bible1 are written by Anton LaVey, the founder of the Church of Satan.

Referencing: If I said "Book of Satan 1:2-4" it means I am reading from The Book of Satan, chapter 1, verse 2 through to verse 4.

2. Ragnar Redbeard and 'Might Is Right'

The controversial book "Might Is Right" was published in 1896CE under the name of Ragnar Redbeard. It is harsh, violent, very blunt and eyebrow-raising, dispensing completely with any sense of morals or higher scheme in order to provide a stark, naturalistic, dog-eat-dog view of the world. The style and energy of the text is rare and revitalizing; the book makes up for in inspirational strength what it lacks in logical coherency.

Who was Ragnar Redbeard?
The probable author is the radical red-head Arthur Desmond, a New Zealander with an Irish father and an English mother. Some say that Jack London (1876-1916) is the author. The style of writing and political content is however somewhat different from what Jack London or Arthur Desmond would ever write in their own names.

The book is sometimes available from Feral House Publishing, but can also be gotten from

Reading from the Book of Satan is about getting a feel for the emotions rather than taking the text literally. There should be no "fundamentalists" in Satanism; no-one should commit words to memory; to do so is to become a slave to the letter of a book that is meant to inspire, not to instruct.